Student Spotlight- Brittany Estridge

Brittany Estridge is a current student at EKU from Hyden, Kentucky who is majoring in Criminal Justice and Political Science. She has been involved in a wide range of student organizations on campus, and has shown herself to be an accomplished leader. Brittany answered our questions about the value that her experiences at Eastern have had.

How have you been involved in campus leadership as a student at Eastern?estridge

My major leadership roles in the Greek Community have been serving as the Vice President of Recruitment for the National Panhellenic Conference (2011), Chapter President of Alpha Delta Pi Sorority (2012), and, currently, I am one of two overall chairs for Greek Weekend 2013. As VP of Panhellenic, I organized formal sorority recruitment for the Fall of 2011. Watching so many wonderful young women find their places in organizations is probably one of the most rewarding events I can recall.

I have been involved in a great variety of activities on campus. While I have played a large role in the Greek Community during my time at Eastern, I have also participated in other areas as well. I have been a member of the Honors Program, served on Student Senate for the Student Government Association, and have been a First Year Leader. I was also a member of the 2012 Homecoming Court. I have been involved with honor societies such as Alpha Lambda Delta, Golden Key, Order of Omega, and I currently serve as the Recruitment President of Mortar Board Honor Society. I have also participated in community service initiatives, serving as a volunteer for the American Red Cross on campus and on the Public Relations committees for both Up ‘til Dawn & Be the Cure. (Up ‘til Dawn, of course, raises money for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital and Be the Cure raises money for the Susan G. Komen Foundation.)

What benefits do you think that serving in leadership roles in the Greek community have for students?

By being a leader in the Greek community, you not only connect with fellow Greeks, but the campus community at large. Had it not been for Greek Life I would have never been involved with the majority of organizations I have participated in on this campus, and would not have made nearly as many connections and friends. Serving as a leader in the Greek Community here at EKU is more like serving a family; we are all working towards a common goal. All of the hard work and dedication you put in is always recognized on a large scale, and to say that it is rewarding in the end is the very least that can be said.

What motivates you to lead?

My main motivation to lead is to change the world around me. People may say that one person is not enough to change the world, but I beg to differ. I feel that in my time at EKU, I really have changed many of those that I have come into contact with, and I strive every day to make a difference in the lives of those around me and in the community in which I live. You do not have to make huge changes to be an effective leader; as long as you take small steps towards achieving your goal you are being just as proactive in your approach.

What are your aspirations?

I have big aspirations to say the least. Currently I am looking at a few different graduate programs, but I really want to travel and work internationally in my profession. I have had a lot of really great teachers who have inspired me over the years through their own brilliance and encouragement. While I definitely want to travel in my younger years, I hope to one day give back to the local community. I am absolutely in love with the state of Kentucky and want to see nothing but bright things in the future for all parts of our wonderful state.

Have your experiences as a student leader impacted your plans for your future?

Without my experience as a student leader, I feel it is safe to say that I would be nowhere near the person I am today. Being involved in so many different leadership roles has shaped my character, made me into a stronger person, and has enabled me to impact lives. Leadership positions are not always easy. Actually, they hardly ever are. But without my involvement, I would not have met many of the wonderful people whom I view as significant role models and mentors. There are countless individuals I have met while at EKU that will forever have an impact on my life. While in my family I view both my grandmother and mother as huge role models, I would also say that my sorority sisters as well as my Greek Advisor, Lindsay Greenwell, serve as huge influences in my life. I would not be the person I am today, nor would I become the person I look forward to being without them being a part of my life.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Student Spotlight

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

