Fondest Memories– Sara Spurr

I am so excited to pair my love for Eastern with my favorite hobby as a member of the Eastern Further team.

I started training for my first marathon during my senior year at Eastern Kentucky University and found it to be a great escape from stress and the most enjoyable form of exercise. I received so much encouragement and support from fellow Colonels as I worked towards my goal of crossing that finish line, I decided to keep at it and have since participated in many distance races.

My fondest memories of walking and running are from my time at Eastern. A friend soon became my best friend after she became my personal trainer, waking me up early so we could zoom all around Richmond before our 8:00 classes. Four months after I completed my first marathon, I completed my second with that friend. Although I’ve switched completely from running to walking, distance races have remained a big part of my life.  In 2011, I completed over 125 miles in organized races.

I’m a walker, not a runner, but don’t judge me. I may be the last of the Eastern Further girls to finish our race but that doesn’t mean I try (or enjoy it) any less. I push myself  just as the other girls do, logging my miles each week and monitoring my progress. Currently I’m stuck around a 12:47 minute/mile pace and am working to improve it, even if just by a little bit.

Just as racing remains to be a big part of my life, so does Eastern! My experiences as a student  prepared me for my professional life. In my personal life, I’m blessed to maintain close relationships with several of my classmates  and am looking forward to marrying a fellow Colonel in December.

Tags:

Categories: The Team

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

