Outstanding Alumna- Gayle E. (Mason) McCroskey

Gayle E. (Mason) McCroskey, a graduate of the class of 1975, explains the impact of her Eastern experience of her successful career as a CPA.

As a senior at Fern Creek High School in Louisville, my biggest aspiration was to become a secretary. . .perhaps an executive secretary if I was very good! Then, a CPA came to my high school accounting class, telling all about the challenges and “fun” of being an accountant. I decided that’s exactly what I wanted to do. After some comparison, I decided that Eastern had the accounting program I wanted.

Life on campus began with Sullivan Hall. What a wonderful place to live, right across the street from the Ravine! I joined the small ranks of those who stayed on campus over the weekend; while most of the students  for home…we called them the “suitcase college students”.

Being a first-generation college student from a family of 10 children, much of my time was spent working on and off campus. But there was always time to attend football games, basketball games, concerts in Alumni Coliseum, events at Brock Auditorium, and various clubs and organizations. The world was opened up to me through all of these experiences.

After graduating from Eastern with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting, I went on to Virginia Tech and earned my Master of Accountancy degree. I interviewed with an accounting firm from Charleston, West Virginia, and accepted a position there. From there, I moved to Lewisburg, West Virginia where I opened my own accounting practice.

Over the years, I have been active in the accounting profession and in my community. I have been President of the West Virginia Board of Accountancy; am currently on the EKU Alumni Board of Directors; have been on the Accounting Advisory Board of Virginia Tech; am a Director of the State Fair of West Virginia; am currently Secretary/Treasurer of the West Virginia Society of CPA’s and will soon become its President; and am Chairman of the Greenbrier County Building Commission.

How did Eastern mold who I am? Eastern opened my eyes to the World around me. It showed me the potential that dwelt within me. Eastern and its people gave me the encouragement to do the most I could. Dr. Jack Dyer was my advisor, my mentor and my biggest cheerleader. I will always be grateful for what he did for me. Others were helpful, but Dr. Dyer is the one who affected my life most!

I have had the opportunity to try to repay the University by establishing an endowed scholarship fund for accounting students. My husband and I (Bob McCroskey, EKU Class of 1975) have funded trips for children from outlying counties to come to Eastern and experience the Crabbe Library and the Hummel Planetarium. We have also challenged young alumni to give back to Eastern. Our motto is “remember how Eastern changed your life and give accordingly.”

When I consider how Eastern changed my life, I am overwhelmed. I am grateful. I am proud to be an EKU Colonel!

Gayle E. (Mason) McCroskey, EKU Class of 1975

Tags:

Categories: Alumni Spotlight

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

