How Far I’ll Go

778 miles. That’s how far I’m going to run in preparation for crossing the finish line with the Eastern Further team at the Disney Princesses Half Marathon in February. To put it into perspective, that’s 266 miles further that the distance between where I live in the DC suburbs and Eastern’s campus (a 10 hour drive!). It will take me more than 129 hours to run, and I could eat about 370 Snickers bars to replace the energy I expend…maybe more. No doubt, I will have listened to the song “Eye of the Tiger” 465 times. By the time I cross the finish line, I should be on my third pair of new sneakers.

I’ll be doing all of this with a group of fellow Colonels with the common purpose of getting you and the rest of the Colonel community energized about women’s leadership at EKU. We hope that our efforts will make clear how committed and passionate we are about supporting Eastern students. To us, the time and energy that we are putting into running a half marathon represent and the things that Eastern taught us about how to lead and to push ourselves, they represent the spirit that Eastern had instilled in us, and our hopes for the University’s future.

Oh, and the race registration, transportation costs, lodging, we’ll be paying the bill for those. Any donations we receive are going straight to the scholarship fund. We’ll be working hard to show you the Power of EKU Women. We hope that you will do what you can to support us and the Eastern Further scholarship fund we’ve set up. Whether it be telling a friend about the initiative, making a donation large or small, or signing up to run with the team, we appreciate you!

I’ve included my training schedule below, in case you want to check my math ; )

–Lindsey Cross

 

Tags:

Categories: The Team

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “How Far I’ll Go”

  1. August 30, 2012 at 2:41 PM #

    Haha – nice faces on your schedule.

Leave a Reply

